Bawnmore Community

Infant school

To care, to enjoy, to learn, together.

Home Page


If you would like your child to attend our school, please see full details of our admission arrangements below. 

Admissions Policy


It is the County Council’s policy to admit children to school in the Autumn Term of the school year in which they will become five.  The County now  processes all admissions and a Parental Preference Form from the centre of the Primary Schools Eastern Area booklet must be completed and sent to the Admissions Service, Warwickshire Education Department, Warwick.  Alternatively, you may apply online at (available to Warwickshire residents only). Completion of this form will register your child for the school of your choice. Letters offering places will be sent out by the Admissions Service in the Spring Term.
An evening meeting for new parents is held in the Summer Term.  Following this meeting arrangements are made for the children to spend some time in the classroom with their new teacher.  Arrangements are also made for the teacher and classroom assistant to visit you and your child at home before starting school.  At first children attend school part-time: children with birthdays at the beginning of the school year for the afternoon session and children with birthdays at the end of the school year for the morning session. This induction programme helps alleviate any worries or fears and gives a very positive start to school.  It also enables us to give considerable support and attention to each child in these important first days of school life and enables teachers to carry out initial assessments.


Admission Criteria

In West Rugby, the individual priority areas for Bilton Infant School, Bilton Junior School, Bawnmore Infant School, Cawston Grange Primary School, Henry Hinde Infant School and Henry Hinde Junior School have now been merged to create one large shared area.  Therefore, if you live within this area, you are in the priority area for all of the above schools when you apply for a school place.

Priority Area:

The area bounded by and including the Western Relief Road south of the Sow Brook, along the eastern extent of the Dunchurch Parish Boundary, bounded in the south by a line drawn to the south of the Cawston Farm (house) and Cawston House but excluding Fox Covert, to Alwyn Road.  Northampton Lane, Dunchurch Road (even numbers) to its junction with Overslade Lane.  Overslade Lane, Lytham Road (west side), May Lane, Gilbert Avenue and Addison Road, to Sow Brook along the Western Relief Road. Incorporates the Cawston Grange Estate, Cawston village, the Admirals, Brookfield and Beechcroft Estates.
The admission criteria are in order of priority

  1. Children in the care of, or provided with accommodation by, a local authority and children who were looked after, but ceased to be so because they were adopted (or became subject to a residence order or special guardianship order).
  2. Children living in the priority area who have a brother or sister at the school at the time of admission.
  3. Children living in the priority area who have a brother or sister at the partner junior school (or    primary school) at the time of admission.
  4. Other children living in the priority area.
  5. Children from outside the priority area who have a brother or sister at the school at the time of admission.
  6. Children from outside the priority area who have a brother or sister at the junior school (or primary school) at the time of admission.
  7. Other children from outside the priority area.
Within each criterion, priority is given in order of straight line distance between the child’s home and the school (shortest distance = highest priority).  Distance will be calculated by the straight line measurement from the applicant’s home address location to the centre point of the preferred school. (All measurements are subject to slight change due to updates of mapping data).

School Admissions Service

01926 742037
Alternate telephone:
01926 742047